Tags

, , , ,

Hi all 🙂 For my first diary entry, I am going to post about an issue that a lot of people can relate to: betrayal. Have you ever trusted someone and thought they were your friend, only to have them stab you in the back? You might ask yourself “How can I ever trust again after he/she did this to me?” Such people are best left behind, never to be seen again, as I learned the hard way.

Anyway, without further ado, here is my own story of betrayal:

Look at what I have become. I can’t believe that I am placing my hopes and dreams on a love that barely exists. Look at him. We are two worlds apart.

These hopes; these dreams. What are they good for if I don’t exist to him? Someday Johnny will notice. Until then, no one else can know about this. I cannot speak his name to anyone, lest the spell be broken.
I should have known that secrets have a way of reaching everyone. What a fool I was for breaking my own promise. I spoke his name to one, and it spread around like an infection. The false illusion of adoration came crumbling down.

What Katherine did was unforgivable. As soon as word reached her lips, she stabbed me in the heart. Her claims of loving him sprouted up out of nowhere.

“I like him too, but I’m too afraid to admit it.” She claimed.  My secret love was now her own. That trust and friendship I built faded away in that moment. I guess I should have seen her machinations coming. Her crooked smile should have been a giveaway.

Suddenly, a new number reached my phone. Curious, I texted back “Who is this?” “It’s Johnny.” My heart almost burst. He finally noticed me! We talked back and forth in the days to come. I was love for the first time in my life. He made me smile; he made me laugh; everything was perfect. Nothing could go wrong now. Finally, the moment of truth came.

“Do you like me?” I asked, my fingers trembling as I typed.

“Yes. I like you a lot. Will you go out with me?”

“Yes!” I texted back. My stomach was full of butterflies. I felt like dancing from rooftops and shouting my love to the world. Ah, how wonderful it is to be young and foolish.

However, reality has a cruel way of sneaking up on the unsuspecting victim. The final text that came would be the last straw.

“Oh, I’m not really Johnny. It’s just Katherine.” I threw my phone across the room. It broke into many pieces, but I didn’t care. How could I have let this happen? I should have known. Nothing in life lasts forever; everything must come to an end. I was wounded not once, but twice.

Now look at what I have become. I can never trust again, any chance of loving another soul vanished, never to return.

