Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

As a new Memorial Day approaches, a lot of us will be going to parties and picnics, hanging out with dear friends and family to celebrate.

This got me thinking, just how important are friends and family? Are they the ones who pick you up by the bootstraps when you fall? Or are they the ones who shove you out the door and let you fend for yourself?

For me this is no easy answer, for I sometimes have a love/hate relationship with them. I may feel like they don’t understand me, but one thing is clear. They have made me who I am today, whether I like it or not. I can now walk a path free of the burdens of yesterday, and they are there every step of the way.

So this Memorial Day, I hope that you all take the time to give a hug to those special people in your life, and tell them how much they mean to you 🙂

Today’s poem explores the strange ups and downs of what these bonds have been like for me:

The silver bonds

Life’s sacred essence

Bound eternally

To the grace

Of everlasting memories

Why then

Does it feel like

I am drowning

In the promises

Of tomorrow

Lies!

All lies!

Come undone

The specters of yesterday

Dance

With me

In sanctity

Together

We will become free

For you see

This is all

Fate’s unerring design

Destiny cannot wait

For your slow decision

And countless tears

Forever more

We are intertwined

For better or worse

Glimpsing into

The forbidden fruits

Of our work

But alas

Oh glorious night

It was meant to be

