Tags

, , , , , , ,

Happy Father’s Day to all the fathers out there!

One thing that strikes me as odd is the fact that all the Father’s Day cards always depict fathers relaxing or enjoying very leisurely activities. Why does this have to be the only day where this is allowed? Fathers aren’t allowed to kick back once in a while?

For me, Father’s Day is a lesson in patience. I did not always have the best of relationships with my own father, and this has reminded me that doing nothing is sometimes the best option. That yard work will be there tomorrow. That laundry can be folded at any time. Why rush if you don’t have to? Too much work is not good for the soul. Instead, why not watch your children play? Before you know it, they will not be children anymore. Appreciate each and every moment they are in your life and cherish these moments forever.

Today’s poem is a dedication to a family member who waited for so long to have a child. He finally celebrated his first Father’s Day today ūüôā

Patience

or something else?

Mixed with solitude

 

Frozen tears

set me free

Heart of my heart

Why

Must you betray me

 

Thorns

Broken scraps of yesterday

Blend

 

A lesson in humility

Oh my soul

at last

my life

a tiny reminder

Of happy

 

Tidings of new

Shine forth

and smile for me again

my baby

