Tags

, , , , , ,

Today I decided to use WordPress as an inspiration for my next post. Clicking “inspire me” came up with this:

A picture is worth 1000 words. This safe has been through a lot. Tell its story. Image credit: “safe” – © 2007 Paul Keller – made available under Attribution 2.0 Generic

A safe is a strange object indeed. Within contains objects so valuable that they warrant being locked away, not to be touched. “No thief would ever want to try and steal this.” One might say.

What is the point of such a possession? If it is truly worth something, why not admire it as such? Is it really worth not looking at ever again?

To many, storing away something might make them feel safe. Nothing can ever harm it there. But what happens when that object becomes forgotten? It can no longer be cherished or shared.

So many times, people don’t stop to think that material goods are only temporary. In the end, they don’t really matter. They may be convenient, yes. But they do not last. The relationships we form and the people we meet are what really matter. Don’t make the mistake of surrounding yourself with too many material goods.

To end this post, I will post a short poem about the dangers of locking away pieces of one’s self:

Containment

Reeking superficiality

What do you really seek?

If not a part of me?

 

No

Don’t you see

It can’t be done

Hiding from reality

 

Solitude

Forgotten pride

Why oh why

Can’t I be found?

 

Beautiful love

Oh so pretty

Why not share

Your beauty with me

 

Poor baby bird

Too frightened to fly

Come on out

and touch the sky

 

Release me

Let me go free

Into the blue

Of my brightest sanctuary.

