Tags

, , , , , , ,

This is my third and final post about my weight loss journey. To view Part 1 (my story), click here. To view Part 2 (food/eating), click here.

When we think of exercise, we may groan at the thought of how laborious and boring it is. We sometimes feel like we have to force ourselves to do it. “Do I really have to do this? What is the point?” You might ask.

I will admit, I felt the same way at first. I had to take a gym class at college for one semester. I felt so sore for the first few weeks that I could barely move. At this point, I realized something had to be done.

I will share a few tips that have helped me to stay on the right track:

  • Start out slow! When you are just starting out, take it easy. No one can run 5 miles on the treadmill or do 100 push ups without easing themselves into it. Even if this means only working out for 20 minutes three days a week, that’s okay. Over time, you can increase this amount to whatever is right for you.
  • Don’t be afraid to rest! I always take one day a week off from working out. This way, my body has time to rest and recover.
  • If you hurt yourself, STOP. I can’t stress this enough. If you hurt yourself when working out, do not continue. You could end up causing even more harm to yourself by not stopping.
  • Always have water on hand. I mentioned this in my previous post as well, but it applies here too. Always be drinking water during your workout to stay hydrated.
  • Do something you love! Workout out is much more fun when you do something you love doing. If you don’t love your workout, then it is easy to make up excuses to not do it. Don’t be afraid to try new activities until you find something you love. Get creative!
  • Keep a journal of your progress! To help boost your enthusiasm, keep a journal of how you are doing. Taking before and after pictures is a great way to stay on track and keep you focused.

Remember, the most important thing is to have fun! Workouts don’t have to be boring. I hope these tips are helpful, and best of luck to everyone!

