Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Hello everyone! I hope you all had wonderful holidays!

I will admit, I am sort of at a loss of what to write today. My energy has been completely drained from the hubbub of the holidays.

I saw this post and decided to give it a shot. What better way to begin 2014 than talking about motivation?

Every year people seem to make these “New Year’s resolutions”, in which people promise to lose weight or be a better person. In my opinion, these resolutions are useless. They are created because it is something you want to eventually do, given you have the time or energy. Resolutions aren’t helping anyone! If you REALLY wanted to lose weight, then you would already be taking serious steps to do it.

For me, the real motivation to do something came from realization. In my darkest times, I realized that eating all the pain away only made the darkness worse. I took risks. I tried new things. Exercise eventually became a core of my day. The thought of listening to my favorite music and dancing to it is enough to motivate me through my day now. I can’t live without it.

I guess my point here is that you should find what you love and don’t be afraid to try new things! These discoveries may lead you to have a new positive motivation in life. Don’t create these fake “resolutions” and promise to try and improve. If you really want to do something, just go out and do it!

I leave you all now with a very short story:

I sit here now, blind as a bat. I can still feel the pain of choices left behind. How was I supposed to know? Life never gives us an answer until the sting of cruel intentions makes it way to the heart unguarded. Never trust a fourteen year old boy to do anything rational.

I can still see her face. Her beauty was enough to make anyone tremble.

“Come on, Henry!” she grabbed my hand. I had never really left the boundaries of Plainville before. No one did, really. Plainville was the type of town where people never changed. I suppose I was never meant to follow in those footsteps.

“Hurry up!” She yelled. I approached her slowly and cautiously. I grabbed my weak stomach in an unsuccessful attempt to suppress the gnawing feeling that took hold.

There she stood, in front of the fork. A faded wooden sign stood in the middle, pointing to paths unseen.

“Choose,” she instructed.

I looked backwards to a blurry town. I could no longer see anything but what lay ahead.

“Why?” I asked. “Why?”

“Because you have to,” she replied. She smiled sweetly as her cheeks turned a rosy red.

I stepped forward, standing in front of the sign. I reached out to touch it, only to have the sign deteriorate into a pile of rotten wood.

“Never trust what anyone else tells you!” a screeching voice yelled. An unseen hand shoved me forward, pushing me up the path in the middle.

“Have a nice life!” she laughed behind me. A searing pain burned away my sight. I could not see what lay ahead or what I left behind. A strange force propelled me forward into unknown territory.

I never saw her again. Life always has a strange way of making things work out. With the loss of my sight came the loss of my old ways. I never went back there. I didn’t need to because I know that I was never supposed to stay.

