Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

I’m sure we have all struggled with that feeling that no matter how much we try, we cannot get something perfect: It must be a certain way or else! Well I am here to tell you that perfection is absolutely maddening.

Years of criticism from my family have made me feel that there is something wrong with me. What am I lacking? What can fill in the missing gaps? Thus my quest for perfection began.

As this post suggests, we all have a role model in life: That one person we look up to. Sometimes we may say “I want to be exactly like that person!” If only it were that simple.

At some point, we must all realize that there is no perfection. Humanity is imperfect by definition. I feel that is why life is so beautiful. There is no wrong answer as to how to live life. You may be living your dream life now, but you had to put in a lot of blood, sweat, and tears to get there, as we all have. We are all trying our best to make do with what we have. The way in which we go about it sets us aside from others.

Even though you don’t know it, you may be someone’s role model. Because you are living life to the best of your ability, you may be inspiring others to work hard and follow their dreams. The one role model that you may look up to probably had a role model as well.

In my own life, my quest for perfection is always ongoing. I feel I can never settle for “good enough”. While I may not necessarily have anyone around to encourage me, I keep on going. Will I ever find perfection? Who knows, maybe it is possible. What I know now is that greatness never comes from trying to be like someone else. For each of us, greatness comes from finding our life’s path and trying to help others do the same.

I will end now with a poem:

Once upon a time

A time of seeing

A time of healing

A time of grace.

 

Grace?

What a disgrace

Shove it in my face

My failings

My loss

My indescribable excuses

 

When does it end?

Does it ever?

What is it exactly

Will I find it?

Never.

Or maybe forever.

 

Enough already

 

Shards of broken glass

Stab my broken heart

tear it all apart

 

Scars of mourning

Smooth over tonight

Nurture me now

in this graceful flight

