Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Hello everyone!

This week’s Dungeon Prompt accurately describes how I feel this week, so I just have to give it a go!

I have several methods of making myself feel better, but for me it turns out dancing is the most effective.

I don’t know if this is normal or not, but every time I feel happy, I have an urge that I must dance. At the first available opportunity, I have to just dance around and be silly for a few minutes. It’s been that way ever since I can remember.

Dancing has been very therapeutic for me in recent years. I struggled with being overweight for most of my life. I reached a point where I felt that eating so poorly wasn’t going to help me solve my problems. So I hatched a plan:

I put on my favorite music and started dancing to it. I started prancing and twirling around the room. I shouted out the lyrics. I’m pretty sure the whole house could hear me, but that didn’t matter. “This is fun! I could get into this!” I thought.

My dance routine stuck. Dancing was much more fun when I could do it to my favorite music! It was at that point when I realized working out wasn’t a death sentence. Family began commenting on how great I began to look. I finally began to feel whole.

I am happy to report that my working out is now a core part of my life. I feel guilty if I don’t do it. I now make sure that my workouts either involve music and/or dancing because that is what works so well for me.

Well, that’s about all I have to say for now. Don’t forget that trying something new is always worth the risk. You may just find a new source of healing 🙂

To end my post this week, I will post a few short poems I wrote over the past few weeks:

1

Why does each day
Bring a sense of malaise
If only I could break free
and find my own destiny…

 

2

Does the breaking of a heart
ever make a sound?
Why am I the sacrifice?
Will the light ever be found?

 

3

To be discouraged

is only a phase

Stick with your gut

and prepare to be amazed

 

4

Life isn’t so grey

when the haze faded away

and the wounds are healed

the light is my shield

