Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Hello everyone!

It is very fitting that this week’s Dungeon Prompt is about overcoming ourselves.

After the tragic death of Robin Williams, I felt called to action.

About a year and a half ago, I wrote a post about how sometimes silence is the best solution. However, sometimes action is the best solution.

Today, I battled my anxiety and made a video about my story of my struggles. It was not an easy thing to do, but I sat down and did it.

You see, Robin Williams is shedding light on an issue that people don’t like to talk about. There is still such a stigma behind depression.

But I’m not remaining silent anymore. The best solution for depression is to talk about it. In order to move forward in life, one must face their greatest hurdles and overcome them. My depression and fear of speaking are still my greatest hurdles in life.

Believe me, my first thoughts after posting this video were that I was going to be attacked by trolls. Everyone who has seen it so far has given me nothing but positive feedback. It’s a little overwhelming to be honest.

I can’t help but feel like I achieved a small victory. If I can achieve this one victory, I can go out and achieve more.

It is my hope that many more people will start talking about depression. Burying it under the rug and pretending it doesn’t exist doesn’t work. It is a serious condition that cannot be ignored.

I haven’t given up hope that my depression will be conquered at some point in my life.

It took a lot out of me to make that video, so I don’t have any poems for this week. Instead, I will end my post with a quote:

“I learned that courage was not the absence of fear, but the triumph over it. The brave man is he who does not feel afraid, but he who conquers that fear.” -Nelson Mandela

 

