Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Hi everyone!

To be honest, I’m not entirely sure to write for this post since I’m so stressed out right now after a conversation I just had. So we will see where this post ends up.

I will be the first to admit that I don’t handle criticism very well. Even if someone tells me something small, I can’t handle it and I feel as if I am being attacked.

The worst is when someone starts drilling into me after I made a mistake. See, my family likes to tell me every single detail of the mistake to make sure I am listening. They always guilt trip me afterwards to make me feel like “how dare you made that mistake!” Last time this happened, I had what felt like a panic attack. Yes, it’s that bad.

I’ve gotten used to saying “don’t shout at me” every time this happens. They laugh and say “You would know if I was shouting”.

Shouting at someone and attacking them for making a mistake doesn’t solve anything. The truth about mistakes is that they are usually accidental. We don’t always have the hindsight to prevent them from happening.

The best way to help a person is to encourage them. Focus on the good they do. Tell them they did such a good job at the areas they got right. The best way to correct a mistake is to acknowledge it and correct it.

I really like to believe that people are inherently good. People want to help other people. If we all work together to be our best, then our best side will come forth. Besides, no one likes to be the one to tell someone that aren’t pulling their weight. If you see someone struggling, lend them a helping hand. You may just make their bad day a good one 🙂

That’s about all I’ve got for this week’s post. Unfortunately, I am way too stressed out to coherently write a poem this week. Sorry about that. Have a great week everyone 🙂

