Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Hi everyone! I hope everyone is having a lovely week!

This week’s Dungeon Prompt asks: “For what would you lie?”

My post title is in quotes because I think people usually have trouble understanding what life is all about.

Here in the U.S., we are engrained with this necessity to work. If we aren’t working, then we aren’t doing anything productive. We are always tired and run down. We chug coffee or tea like there’s no tomorrow. And many adults call this “the real world”.

Really? Running yourself into the ground and living only for work is reality?

Whenever I’m at parties or family gatherings, the first thing I hear people talking about is work. They complain about how much they hate their job and how little time they have for anything else.

Personally, I’ve always been the opposite. I only do the bare minimum of work. I’m not one of those people who goes above and beyond the call of duty unless I have to. My workaholic parents have made me feel worthless on more than one occasion as a result.

Now that I have a job, I have come to realize just how vital it is to rest. On my days off, I have become so exhausted that I can’t do much of anything. I spend my day in my PJs and just relax.

Why do so many people live with a reality they are unhappy with? Why lie to keep living a sub par life? Don’t people want to be happy?

Lies are poison. At some point in our lives, we will realize our fullest potential. If we keep lying, then it only distracts us from who we really are. We cannot escape who we are. The guilt that comes with lying will eventually catch up.

So what is “the real world”? To me, “the real world” is realizing the concept of balance. There is a time and a place for everything. Let your home be a place of peace and serenity. Leave work at work. Take time for yourself! It’s okay to rest! Work is not the ultimate reality.

So that’s that. I hope anyone who feels like work is their life will take a break and do something fun for once, because you deserve it!

This week’s poem is inspired by this post:

Life in frenzy

Paranoia ready

Zero momentum

Blood runs steady

 

Flimsy fixations

and final temptations

Bring me back

to another attack

 

The ocean’s sail

world so pale

Just what is my life

on a bigger scale?

 

It’s always the anodyne

that relieves my mind

from the creeping sorrow

that’s so easy to find

 

What is addiction

but crushed dreams magnified

by thousands of times

and pushed to the side

 

Just give me a spade

and dig me a hole

maybe then

will my life be full

 

I see the powder

and I think of snow

but in reality

I will never know

 

A skein of hair

Will help me compare

which reality

is more fair

 

My percussive heartbeat

Is so dead and cold

There is no solace

to which it will hold

 

Why is life

always so awry

All I can say is

we are all born to die…

 

 

 

 

 

 

