Tags

, , , , , , ,

Hello everyone! Hope everyone’s week is going well!

This week’s post is based off this post. This prompt came at an interesting time, because I have been actively questioning what my role is in life.

To be honest, I had a hard time thinking of what to write for this. Then a certain event came to mind…

Several months ago, around Christmas time I think, I went to visit my grandfather’s grave. I just had this feeling like nobody ever visited him and that made me sad. I went to the supermarket a short drive down the road and bought some flowers to put on his grave.

I will admit, every time I visit his grave, a wave of sorrow washes over me. This sorrow isn’t a grieving type of sorrow. He passed away when I was three, so I don’t remember him at all. Instead, this sorrow is more like I feel like I cannot measure up to his greatness. I’ve heard stories of how great he was. I wished I could have gotten to know him.

I think that I said some type of prayer and thanked him for watching over my family for all this time. I also remember crying because I was saying how I hope I am measuring up to everyone’s standards.

When I cleared my head a little, I eventually left.

On my way home, I was waiting at a stoplight and heard a knock on my window. I looked over to see my dad of all people.

“Where were you? Why was your car empty on the side of the road?” He demanded to know. I could not go into a lot of detail because the stoplight turned green, so I drove off without saying much.

When I got home, my family starting criticizing me. “You shouldn’t have parked on the side of the road. You should have told us where you were. You should have parked somewhere else. You should have done X, Y, and Z instead.”

So instead of saying something positive for visiting my grandfather’s grave, they attacked me for doing one thing wrong. I got angry and lashed out at them, because I felt like I was being attacked. They kept repeating their criticisms over and over again. I couldn’t take it. I was so tempted to just get back in my car and drive away.

I still don’t understand the significance of this event, if there even is any.

Honestly, I felt as if it had negative implications. I still feel like I got attacked for trying to do something nice.

Perhaps the lesson in all this is that life isn’t supposed to go as planned. Not everyone is appreciative of everything.

However, that doesn’t mean we should ever stop being kind to others. I still believe that kindness is the ultimate answer to everything, if only I remember to show it.

Well that’s about it from me for this post. Don’t forget to be kind to everyone! ūüôā

Have a great week everyone.

