Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Hello everyone!

This week’s post is based on this post.

There’s just so many times in life when we so desperately wish to make something a reality: “I wish I could have this job”, “I wish this guy/girl would notice me”, “I wish I had enough money”.

So you work hard to make your wish a reality only to find out that it might not be as grand as you had expected it to be: you hate that job, that guy/girl isn’t your type, the money you earned had to be spent on extra living expenses.

The truth is that life doesn’t always go as planned. Wishes don’t always come to fruition, and we must learn to adapt.

In my own life, when I was a student, I always focused on my education. I did the work, showed up early, and made sure I had good grades. That was my life, and I didn’t think about what happened afterwards.

When I first started college, I had this idea that life would just fall into place as I went along: I would be able to find the right job, I would be able to afford the cost of living and make a nice life for myself somewhere.

As you can probably guess, that didn’t happen. I just expected it to happen without putting forth any effort to make it a reality. Nothing will ever happen if we put forth no action to make it so.

A few months after I graduated, I was desperate to find a job, and one employer for a company I applied for e-mailed me to schedule a phone interview. I was so excited because it sounded like a great company to work for. I prepared as much as I could to make sure I didn’t mess it up.

Well, the day of that interview came and I totally botched the interview. I was so focused on not failing that I froze. I couldn’t answer the questions properly. I imagine that the interviewer talking to me must have thought me to be a nervous wreck. All my hopes and dreams came crashing down in the moments after it ended. I ended up not getting the job.

I’m not bitter about that experience, because I know now that there is a reason behind everything. I probably did not have the skills or personality necessary to perform the job.

We must not be upset if our wishes are not realized. Sometimes we must fail in order to learn an important lesson.

So if there is something you hope to accomplish, don’t stop trying. However, don’t become so consumed by it that you lost sight of what’s important, because it might not end up how you expected.

Well, that’s about all I have to say for this week. Don’t give up trying to accomplish your dreams!

Have a great week everyone ūüôā

